Music

Music!

Hey everyone!

img_20140918_201629

As music is what I’m mainly going to be mainly writing about this blog, I thought I’d give you a bit of information about my musical life.

So let’s start from the beginning (it’s a very good place to start!)

From a very young age I always wanted to play the Flute. I have no idea why, but I did! However, I was too young and too small to start lessons and I was very disappointed.

When I was 8 years old and in Year 3 at school, I was finally able to start and I instantly loved it! I learnt the basics and gradually started getting better and better. In Year 5, I joined a band at one of the local secondary schools (which I actually ended up going to a couple of years later). By the time I left primary school at the end of Year 6, I was working towards my Grade 4.

img_20150514_193858

The secondary school I went to had a large performing arts department with many bands and ensembles. I was already involved in the bands, but I really wanted to get into the main senior band who had been invited to play in Carnegie Hall, New York only a couple of years before. I was determined to pass my audition and worked really hard towards it, as well as practicing for my Grade 4. By Christmas that year, after being at secondary school for 1 term, I passed my Grade 4 Flute and also got into the senior bands. Around the same time, I decided that I wanted to learn the saxophone so I started lessons on the Alto Saxophone. Looking back, I must have had some kind of crazy burst of motivation and inspiration because I also started the piano at the same time.

I picked up the Saxophone very quickly, due to already being able to read music, and after only 13 lessons, I passed my Grade 3 Alto Saxophone. I also took the piano although it was very different to my other instruments and I had to learn to read bass clef which took me much longer to get used to.

A couple of years ago, I jointed the Percussion Ensemble at school playing tuned percussion. Although I don’t have lessons and I doubt I’ll carry it on when I leave, I really enjoy and we always have an amazing time.

In March earlier this year, I passed my Grade 8 Saxophone with Distinction (my first ever distinction) and then followed by passing my Grade 8 Flute with Distinction a term later.

Currently, I am working towards my Diploma on Flute which I hope to complete by the time I leave 6th Form. In April next year, I will be taking my Grade 4 Piano. I have recently also taken up the Soprano Saxophone.

I have played in amazing venues all around the UK as well as abroad and I’m so thankful for the experiences that music has given me.

As you can see, music is a huge part of my life and, one day, I hope to do it as a career.

Let me know if you play any instruments and, if so, what you play.  Also feel free to leave any requests in the comments below. I look forward to hearing from you!

See you soon,

Katie x

 

Leave a Reply

