Lifestyle

Don’t Be Afraid to Say Goodbye

Hey guys,

This week has been full of drama for me and I feel like I need to get something off my chest, so why not write to you about it?

I used to be really close friends with this girl and even though she used to create loads of unnecessary arguments with people and slag them off all the time, I never thought that she’d do that to me. I was wrong…

Last summer, we had a huge ‘fallout’ and to be honest I never thought we’d get through it. It was one thing after another after another and I was so sick of her putting me down all the time that I decided I didn’t really want to be friends with her anymore. But when the time came and she asked me if I wanted to sort things out, I didn’t say no like I wanted to and instead I told her that we should just be ‘civil’ with each other.

Then when we started school again in September, we were getting on okay again. It was never the same as it was before but we were still friends. However, at the end of last week, I heard that she had this huge problem with me and had said that she was going to have a massive go at me, but she just ignored me for most of the day and when she did speak to me, she acted normal. She told everyone (including my boyfriend) that she had this massive problem with me but the only person she didn’t tell was me.

The next morning, she came and apologised but she lied to my face and said that she didn’t tell everyone and tried to blame it on someone else, even though I knew it was her. So I didn’t accept her apology. I thought that would be the end of it.

But then a couple of days ago, we started talking about it and she tried to make out that she was the victim in all of this and that I was the one creating trouble. She kept telling me that I’m supposed to be her friend but then said that she doesn’t trust me and never will. Without trust, there is no friendship. She kept contradicting everything she said. She told me that I was a horrible person who instigates loads of drama, even though it’s her, and when I made a valid point that she couldn’t find a comeback for, she simply said ‘well I don’t like you as a person’. She blamed me for the fact that not many people like her, but instead of doing that, she needs to ask herself why people don’t like her, because in reality, it has absolutely nothing to do with me.

If you ever find yourself in that situation, just walk away and forget about everything they said because it’s not true. When people like that start to twist the truth and make you out to be the bad guy, it can be so easy to believe them, just like I started to believe her. But everyone I spoke to said that I’m not at all like that, that it’s her who is like that, and I soon started to realise that I didn’t care what she thought of me and what she said to me. I realised that I needed to stop listening to her and that I needed to believe in myself.

Cutting people out of your life can be one of the most difficult things in the world to do, especially if they are or once were your friend. But if they make you feel down about yourself, and they can sit there and shout horrible things about you, then you don’t need them in your life, because the truth is, they’re probably just jealous. Surround yourself with people who love you and make you happy. Don’t do what I did and wait years to realise that. Although it’ll be difficult, you’ll me much better off in the long term.

Have you ever been in a situation like this? Let me know how you dealt with it.

See you next time,

Katie x

 

Leave a Reply

